Motherhood, Uncategorized

Two under two

It seems so often that I am wishing away time. I can’t wait until the baby’s tooth pops through.  I can’t wait until my baby sleeps through the night. I cant wait until bedtime. Looking back, I’ve done this for as long as I can remember. In every stage of my life. Recently, however, I  have begun to feel (and recognize) just how happy I am. I am finally feeling that my life is just as beautiful as it looks on paper.

My life has moved so quickly the last few years, and each changing season has brought new challenges and new blessings. Life right now is busy, to be sure, but I think I might be the happiest that I have ever been. Dealing with a toddler (who hasn’t even reached his second birthday yet) is challenging and draining, but it is also one of the most rewarding experiences. Watching a baby grow from a helpless little bundle to a thriving toddler who learns so much every day leaves me in constant amazement. He makes life so fun and is constantly making me laugh (and sometimes even cry the happiest tears). He knows more than just his colors and numbers. He understands emotions and he comforts his brother when he cries.

IMG_1911

Thankfully, our 4-month-old is incredibly sweet and exceptionally easy-going. He smiles almost all day long. I love holding him, and could kiss his face for hours. He isn’t the best sleeper, but I’m no longer wishing away time, yearning for the days when he will sleep through the night.

Things are nowhere near easy. My house is never as clean as I would like, My laundry is rarely folded and put away, and I am always rushing to get out the door in the morning. I’m not happy every moment of every day. Not even close. But I am happy.

I catch myself smiling and enjoying where we are in life. Super busy. Super beautiful.

Standard

2 thoughts on “Two under two

Leave a Reply

